Current Banknotes

In most countries it is only the Governments, through their central banks, who are permitted to issue currency.  In the United Kingdom, however, three banks in Scotland: Bank of Scotland, Clydesdale Bank and The Royal Bank of Scotland; and four in Northern Ireland: Bank of Ireland, Danske Bank (formerly Northern Bank), First Trust Bank, and Ulster Bank, are authorised to issue their own banknotes.


To see what denominations are currently issued by each of the authorised banks, and to find out how you can obtain information about the design and security features of each note, you can either click on the relevant bank logo below or select the appropriate bank name from the menu on the left.


 Bank of Ireland corporate logo Bank of Scotland corporate logo
Clydesdale Bank Corporate logo  Northern Bank corporate logo
 First Trust Bank corporate logo  Royal Bank of Scotland corporate logo
 Ulster Bank corporate logo